Affiliates

Regular and adjunct faculty, graduate students, and other freshwater professionals may apply to become an affiliate of the Faculty of the River Basin Center. A subset of the faculty serve on the RBC Advisory Board.

This list includes affiliate faculty only; to learn more about other members of the River Basin Center affiliates, contact Sarah Buckleitner (sarah.buckleitner@uga.edu).

Current Advisory Board members include: Brian Bledsoe, Krista Capps, John Drake, John Gittleman (ex officio), Kevin Kirsche, David Leigh, Marguerite Madden, Jeff Mullen, Don Nelson, Todd Rasmussen, Mark Risse, Amy Rosemond, David Stooksbury, Shana Jones, Katie Hill, Alfie Vick and Christian Turner.

Rebecca Abney
Assistant Professor of Forest and Disturbed Soils
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
ra10806@uga.edu
706-542-2532

Merryl Alber
Director,  UGA Marine Institute on Sapelo Island, and Professor
Marine Sciences
malber@uga.edu
(706) 542-5966

Darold P Batzer
Professor
Entomology
dbatzer@uga.edu
(706) 542-2301

Mona Behl
Associate Director and Public Service Assistant
Marine Extension Service and Georgia Sea Grant
mbehl@uga.edu
(706) 542-6621

Emily Bell
Assistant Professor of Public Administration and Policy in the School of Public and International Affairs
evbell@uga.edu

Raven Bier
Assistant Research Scientist at Savannah River Ecology Laboratory; Courtesy Faculty and Graduate Faculty in the Odum School of Ecology
rbier@srel.uga.edu 
803-725-9726

Marsha Black
Associate Professor Emeritus
Environmental Health Science
mblack@uga.edu
(706) 542-0998

Brian Bledsoe
Georgia Athletic Association Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
bbledsoe@uga.edu
(706) 542-7249

Robert Bringolf
Graduate Coordinator and Associate Professor, Fish Biology and Ecotoxicology
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
bringo@uga.edu
(706) 542-1477

Jessica Brown
Stormwater Specialist
Marine Extension and Georgia Sea Grant
gacoast.uga.edu
(912) 264-7341

Jon Calabria
Associate Professor
College of Environment and Design
jcalabr@uga.edu
(706) 542-0903

Krista Capps
Assistant Professor
Odum School of Ecology and Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
kcapps@uga.edu
(706) 542-9673

Ron Carroll
Professor Emeritus
Odum School of Ecology
ronecology@gmail.com

Scott Connelly
Assistant Professor
Odum School of Ecology
scottcon@uga.edu
(706) 542-5233

Alan Covich
Professor Emeritus
Odum School of Ecology
alanc@uga.edu
(706) 542-6006

John Drake
Professor
Odum School of Ecology
jdrake@uga.edu
(706) 583-5539

Puneet Dwivedi
Associate Professor
Warnell School of Forestry
puneetd@warnell.uga.edu
(706) 542-2406

Duncan Elkins
Lecturer
Warnell School of Forestry
delkins@uga.edu
(706) 623-2254

Susana Ferreira
Associate Professor
College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
sferreir@uga.edu
(706) 542-0086

Byron Freeman
Senior Public Service Associate and Director
Georgia Museum of Natural History
bud@hemip.nhm.uga.edu
(706) 583-0978

Mary Freeman
Research Ecologist
U.S. Geological Survey
freemanm@uga.edu
(706) 543-0978

Nandita Gaur
Assistant Professor
Crop and Soil Science Department
NANDITA.GAUR@uga.edu
(706) 542-2461

John Gittleman
Dean and UGA Foundation Professor
Odum School of Ecology
ecohead@uga.edu
(706) 542-2968

Stephen Golladay
Associate Scientist
Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center
steve.golladay@jonesctr.org
(229) 734-4706 x244

Gary Grossman
Professor, Animal Ecology
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
grossman@uga.edu
(706) 542-1160

Martin Hamel
Assistant Professor, Fisheries Management and Ecology
mjh50785@uga.edu
706-542-1477

Gary Hawkins
Water Resource Management and Policy Specialist
Assistant Professor
Crop and Soil Science Department
ghawkins@uga.edu
(706) 310-3526

Pete Hazelton
Assistant Professor, Aquatic Ecosystem Health
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
phaze@uga.edu
706-352-9378

Jeffrey Hepinstall-Cymerman
Associate Professor, Landscape Ecology
Warnell School of Forestry
jhepinstall@warnell.uga.edu
(706) 583-8097

Katie Hill
Research Professional
Carl Vinson Institute
katiehill@uga.edu

Charles Hopkinson
Professor Emeritus
Marine Sciences
chopkins@uga.edu
(706) 542-1855

Brian Irwin
Assistant Unit Leader and Adjunct Faculty, Fisheries
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
irwin@uga.edu
706-542-0790

Rhett Jackson
Professor, Hydrology
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
rjackson@warnell.uga.edu
(706) 542-1772

Cecil Jennings
Unit Leader and Adjunct Professor
GA Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
jennings@uga.edu
(706) 542-4837

Shana Jones
Planning and Environmental Services Unit Program Manager
Carl Vinson Institute of Government
shanaj@uga.edu
(706) 542-3641

Lizzie King
Associate Professor, Ecosystem Ecology & Management
Warnell School of Forestry
egking@uga.edu

Kevin Kirsche
Director of Sustainability
Office of Sustainability
kkirsche@uga.edu
(706) 542-1301

Stacey Lance
Associate Research Scientist
Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
lance@srel.uga.edu

Rod Lammers
Post Doctoral Researcher
Institute for Resilient Infrastructure Systems, College of Engineering
rod.lammers@uga.edu

Franklin E. Leach III 
Assistant Professor
Environmental Health Science
leach@uga.edu
(706) 542-7146

David Leigh
Professor
Geography
dleigh@uga.edu
(706) 542-2346

KE (Luke) Li
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
keli@engr.uga.edu
(706) 542-2201

Erin Lipp
Professor
Graduate Coordinator
Dept. of Environmental Health Science
elipp@uga.edu
(706) 583-8138

Elizabeth Little
Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
elittle@uga.edu
(706) 542-4774

Marguerite Madden
Professor, Associate Department Head, and Director, Center for Geospatial Research
Geography
mmadden@uga.edu
(706) 542-2379

John Maerz
Josiah Meigs Distinguished Professor, Wildlife
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
jcmaerz@uga.edu
706-542-9909

Adam M Milewski
Associate Professor
Geology
milewski@uga.edu
(706) 542-4263

Jeffrey Mullen
Associate Professor
College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
jmullen@uga.edu
(706) 542-0767

Donald Nelson
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology
dnelson@uga.edu
(706) 542-1452

Nathan Nibbelink
Associate Dean for Research and Professor, Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
nate2@uga.edu
(706) 542-9853

Brian Orland
Professor
College of Environmental and Design
borland@uga.edu
(706) 542-0709

Craig Osenberg
Professor
Odum School of Ecology
osenberg@uga.edu
(706) 713-2051

Elizabeth Ottesen
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology
ottesen@uga.edu
(706) 542-9582

Benjamin Parrott
Assistant Professor
Odum School of Ecology and Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
benparrott@srel.uga.edu
(803) 725-6328

J. Scott Pippin
Public Service Assistant
Carl Vinson Institute of Government
jspippin@uga.edu
(706) 542-3250

Catherine Pringle
Distinguished Research Professor
Odum School of Ecology
cpringle@uga.edu
(706) 542-1120

David Radcliffe
Professor Emeritus
College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
dradclif@uga.edu
(706) 542-0897

Todd Rasmussen
Professor
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
trasmuss@uga.edu
(706) 542-4300

Mark Risse
Director
UGA Marine Extension and Georgia Sea Grant
mrisse@uga.edu
(706) 542-5956

Amy Rosemond
Associate Professor
Odum School of Ecology
rosemond@uga.edu
(706) 542-3903

Amanda Rugenski
Lecturer
Odum School Of Ecology
atrugenski@uga.edu
(706) 542-2968

John H Schacke
Part-time Assistant Professor
Odum School Of Ecology
schacke@uga.edu
(706) 542-1663

J.P. Schmidt
Lecturer
Odum School of Ecology
jps@uga.edu
(706) 542-2968

John Schramski
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
jschrams@uga.edu
706-542-4828

Jay Shelton
Associate Professor
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
jshelton@uga.edu
706-542-3108

Troy Simon
Research Professional
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
tsimon@uga.edu
(706) 542-5089

Katy Smith
Public Service Assistant/Water Quality Program Coordinator
Marine Extension and Georgia Sea Grant
klaustin@uga.edu
(912) 262-3338

David Stooksbury
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
destooks@uga.edu
(706) 583-0156

Alex Strauss
Assistant Professor
Odum School of Ecology
atstrauss@uga.edu

Christian Turner
Associate Professor
School of Law
cmturner@uga.edu
(706) 542-5140

Charles Van Rees
Post-doctoral Researcher
Odum School of Ecology
Charles.vanRees@uga.edu

R. Alfred Vick
Georgia Power Professor in Environmental Ethics
College of Environmental and Design
ravick@uga.edu
(706) 542-6550

John Wares
Professor
Franklin College of Arts & Sciences
Department of Genetics
jpwares@uga.edu

Jason Westrich
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Department of Marine Sciences
westrich@uga.edu
706-542-6818

Susan Wilde
Associate Professor
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
swilde@uga.edu
(706) 542-3346