Faculty

Regular and adjunct faculty from any UGA unit may apply to serve as a member of the Faculty of the River Basin Center; please see this page for more information. A subset of the faculty serve on the RBC Advisory Board. Current Advisory Board members include Brian Bledsoe, John Drake, John Gittleman (ex officio), Kevin Kirsche, David Leigh, Marguerite Madden, Jeff Mullen, Don Nelson, David Radcliffe, Todd Rasmussen, Mark Risse, Amy Rosemond, David Stooksbury, and Christian Turner.

Merryl Alber
Director,  UGA Marine Institute on Sapelo Island, and Professor
Marine Sciences
malber@uga.edu
(706) 542-5966

Kimberly Andrews
Research Coordinator
Savannah River Ecology Laboratory and Georgia Sea Turtle Center
andrews@srel.uga.edu
803-725-9793

Mona Behl
Associate Director and Public Service Assistant
Marine Extension Service and Georgia Sea Grant
mbehl@uga.edu
(706) 542-6621

Marsha Black
Associate Professor
Environmental Health Science
mblack@uga.edu
(706) 542-0998

Brian Bledsoe*
Georgia Athletic Association Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
bbledsoe@uga.edu
(706) 542-7249

Robert Bringolf
Graduate Coordinator and Associate Professor, Fish Biology and Ecotoxicology
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
bringo@uga.edu
(706) 542-1477

Jessica Brown
Stormwater Specialist
Marine Extension and Georgia Sea Grant
gacoast.uga.edu
(912) 264-7341

Jon Calabria
Associate Professor
College of Environment and Design
jcalabr@uga.edu
(706) 542-0903

Krista Capps
Assistant Professor
Odum School of Ecology and Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
kcapps@uga.edu
(706) 542-9673

Ron Carroll
Professor Emeritus
Odum School of Ecology
ronecology@gmail.com

Scott Connelly
Assistant Professor
Odum School of Ecology
scottcon@uga.edu
(706) 542-5233

Alan Covich
Professor
Odum School of Ecology
alanc@uga.edu
(706) 542-6006

John Drake*
Professor
Odum School of Ecology
jdrake@uga.edu
(706) 583-5539

Puneet Dwivedi
Assistant Professor
Warnell School of Forestry
puneetd@warnell.uga.edu
(706) 542-2406

Duncan Elkins
Postdoctoral Associate
delkins@uga.edu

Byron Freeman
Senior Public Service Associate and Director
Georgia Museum of Natural History
bud@hemip.nhm.uga.edu
(706) 583-0978

Mary Freeman
Research Ecologist
U.S. Geological Survey
freemanm@uga.edu
(706) 543-0978

David Gattie
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
dgattie@uga.edu
(706) 542-0880

John Gittleman**
Dean and UGA Foundation Professor
Odum School of Ecology
ecohead@uga.edu
(706) 542-2968

Stephen Golladay
Associate Scientist
Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center
steve.golladay@jonesctr.org
(229) 734-4706 x244

Gary Hawkins
Water Resource Management and Policy Specialist
Assistant Professor
Crop and Soil Science Department
ghawkins@uga.edu
(706) 310-3526

Jeffrey Hepinstall-Cymerman
Associate Professor, Landscape Ecology
Warnell School of Forestry
jhepinstall@warnell.uga.edu
(706) 583-8097

Charles Hopkinson
Professor
Marine Sciences
chopkins@uga.edu
(706) 542-1855

Annette Hynes
Department of Marine Sciences
amhynes@uga.edu
(706) 542-2915

Brian Irwin
Assistant Unit Leader and Adjunct Faculty, Fisheries
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
irwin@uga.edu
706-542-0790

Rhett Jackson
Professor, Hydrology
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
rjackson@warnell.uga.edu
(706) 542-1772

Shana Jones
Planning and Environmental Services Unit Program Manager
Carl Vinson Institute of Government
shanaj@uga.edu
(706) 542-3641

Kevin Kirsche*
Director of Sustainabilty
Office of Sustainability
kkirsche@uga.edu
(706) 542-1301

Douglas Leasure
Postdoctoral Associate
dleasure@uga.edu

David Leigh*
Professor
Geography
dleigh@uga.edu
(706) 542-2346

Elizabeth Little
Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
elittle@uga.edu
(706) 542-4774

Marguerite Madden*
Professor, Associate Department Head, and Director, Center for Geospatial Research
Geography
mmadden@uga.edu
(706) 542-2379

Jeffrey Mullen*
Associate Professor
College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
jmullen@uga.edu
(706) 542-0767

Courtney Murdock
Assistant Professor
Odum School of Ecology and Veterinary Medicine
cmurdock@uga.edu
(706) 542-2083

Donald Nelson*
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology
dnelson@uga.edu
(706) 542-1452

Nathan Nibbelink
Associate Professor, GIS/Spatial Ecology, Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
Director, Center for Integrative Conservation Research
nate2@uga.edu
(706) 542-9853

Brian Orland
Professor
College of Environmental and Design
borland@uga.edu
(706) 542-0709

Catherine Pringle
Distinguished Research Professor
Odum School of Ecology
cpringle@uga.edu
(706) 542-1120

David Radcliffe*
Professor
College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
dradclif@uga.edu
(706) 542-0897

Todd Rasmussen*
Professor
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
trasmuss@uga.edu
(706) 542-4300

Jennifer Rice
Associate Professor
Department of Geography
jlrice@uga.edu
(706) 542-2910

Mark Risse*
Director
UGA Marine Extension and Georgia Sea Grant
mrisse@uga.edu
(706) 542-5956

Amy Rosemond*
Associate Professor
Odum School of Ecology
rosemond@uga.edu
(706) 542-3903

J.P. Schmidt
Assistant Research Scientist
Odum School of Ecology
jps@uga.edu
(706) 542-2968

John Schramski
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
jschrams@uga.edu
706-542-4828

Katy Smith
Public Service Assistant/Water Quality Program Coordinator
Marine Extension and Georgia Sea Grant
klaustin@uga.edu
(912) 262-3338

David Stooksbury*
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
destooks@uga.edu
(706) 583-0156

Christian Turner*
Associate Professor
School of Law
cmturner@uga.edu
(706) 542-5140

R. Alfred Vick
Georgia Power Professor in Environmental Ethics
College of Environmental and Design
ravick@uga.edu
(706) 542-6550

John Wares
Associate Professor
Franklin College of Arts & Sciences
Department of Genetics
jpwares@uga.edu

Christopher Wheeler
Postdoctoral Associate
kwheeler@uga.edu

Susan Wilde
Associate Professor
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
swilde@uga.edu
(706) 542-3346

* denotes River Basin Center Advisory Board member

** denotes River Basin Center Advisory Board member ex officio