GRADUATE STUDENTS

One of the core missions of the River Basin Center is to provide training for future aquatic resource professionals. 

Graduate students who work on River Basin Center projects gain first-hand experience solving real-world water problems and have the opportunity to interact directly with colleagues at government agencies, non-governmental organizations, consulting firms and other partners.

If you’re interested in pursuing a graduate degree working with the River Basin Center, please email one or more RBC faculty members, advisory board members or co-directors to inquire about opportunities.

Graduate Student Funding

Support for graduate students comes from externally-funded projects and from various UGA fellowships. The James E. Butler Fellowship is awarded by the RBC, in cooperation with the Odum School of Ecology, to one incoming master’s student. The assistantship constitutes fall-spring funding (at 4/9 time) for two consecutive years for graduate students studying aquatic ecology, water quality and land use in Georgia and surrounding states.

The John Spencer Fellowship is awarded by the RBC, in cooperations with the Odum School of Ecology, to one incoming master’s student. The assistantship constitutes fall-spring funding (at 4/9 time) for two consecutive years for either the MS in Ecology or the MS in Conservation Ecology and Sustainable Development (the latter is preferred).

Other graduate students are funded by Graduate School Assistantships, Presidential Graduate Fellowships, and teaching assistantships. Funding is highly competitive.

Affiliate with the RBC

Graduate students already pursuing degrees may click here or email Lainie Pomerleau (lpomerle@uga.edu) to become River Basin Center graduate student affiliates.

Rebecca Atkins
PhD Student
Odum School of Ecology
Atkinsr@uga.edu

Courtney Balling
PhD Student
Department of Geography
cmb65556@uga.edu

Raul Basilio
PhD Student
Department of Anthropology
rb40935@uga.edu

Shelby Bauer
MS Student
Odum School of Ecology
shelby.bauer@uga.edu

Kerrie Bethel
PhD Student (ICON)
Odum School of Ecology
kabethel@uga.edu

Daniel Buhr
PhD Student
College of Engineering
db70846@uga.edu

Phillip Bumpers
PhD Student
Odum School of Ecology
bumpersp@uga.edu

Gabriela Cardona-Rivera
PhD Student
Entomology, College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
gabriela.cardonarivera@uga.edu

Caitlin Conn
PhD Candidate
Odum School of Ecology
caitlin.conn25@uga.edu

Denzell Cross
PhD Candidate
Odum School of Ecology and ICON
dacross@uga.edu

Carolyn Cummins
PhD Student
Odum School of Ecology
ccummins@uga.edu

Sameera Gujarathi
PhD Student (ICON)
Odum School of Ecology
Sameera5@uga.edu

Holly Yaryan Hall
PhD Student
College of Engineering
holly.yaryanhall@uga.edu

Megan Hopson
PhD Student
Odum School of Ecology
megan.hopson@uga.edu

Max Kelly
MS Student
Odum School of Ecology
max.kelly@uga.edu

Emma Kelsick
MS Student
Odum School of Ecology
kelsick@uga.edu

Laura Kojima
MS Student
Odum School of Ecology
laura.kojima@uga.edu

Talia Levine
MS Student
Odum School of Ecology
trlevine@uga.edu

Fabiola Lopez Avila
MS Student
Odum School of Ecology
Fabiola.LopezAvila@uga.edu

Anuja Mital
PhD Student (ICON)
Odum School of Ecology
anujamital@uga.edu

Andrew Nagy
MS Student
Odum School of Ecology
Andrew.Nagy@uga.edu

Laura Naslund
PhD Student
Odum School of Ecology
laura.naslund@uga.edu

Corrie Navis
PhD Student (ICON)
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
corrie.navis@uga.edu

Alec Nelson
PhD Student (ICON)
Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
Alec.Nelson@uga.edu

Alyssa Quan
PhD Student (ICON)
Odum School of Ecology
quaniam@uga.edu

Sophie Racey
PhD Student
Entomology, College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
sir74000@uga.edu

Laura Rack
PhD Student
Odum School of Ecology
laura.rack@uga.edu

Shishir Rao
PhD Student (ICON)
Odum School of Ecology
Shishir.Rao@uga.edu

Cydney Seigerman
PhD Student (ICON)
Department of Anthropology, Franklin College of Arts & Sciences
cydneykate@uga.edu

Akanksha Sharma
PhD Student (ICON)
Odum School of Ecology
akanksha.sharma@uga.edu

Robert Sorrells
PhD Student
Department of Geography
rsorrell@uga.edu

Ed Stowe
PhD Student
Odum School of Ecology
edward.stowe25@uga.edu

Megan Tomamichel
PhD Student
Odum School of Ecology
megan.tomamichel@uga.edu

Nate Tomczyk
PhD Candidate
Odum School of Ecology
nathan.tomczyk25@uga.edu

Eric Walther
PhD Student
Odum School of Ecology
Eric.Walther@uga.edu

Carol Yang
PhD Student
Odum School of Ecology
cy91370@uga.edu

Kristen Zemaitis
MS Student
Odum School of Ecology
kzemaitis@uga.edu