People

Co-Directors

Laurie Fowler
Director for Policy, River Basin Center
Executive Director for Public Service and External Affairs, Odum School of Ecology
Clinical faculty, School of Law
lfowler@uga.edu
(706) 542-0463

Seth Wenger
Director for Science, River Basin Center
Assistant Professor, Odum School of Ecology
swenger@uga.edu
(706) 542-1778

Faculty of the RBC

Regular and adjunct faculty from any UGA unit may apply to serve as a member of the Faculty of the River Basin Center; please see this page for more information. A subset of the faculty serve on the RBC Advisory Board. Current Advisory Board members include Brian Bledsoe, John Drake, John Gittleman (ex officio), Kevin Kirsche, David Leigh, Marguerite Madden, Jeff Mullen, Don Nelson, David Radcliffe, Todd Rasmussen, Mark Risse, Amy Rosemond, David Stooksbury, and Christian Turner.

Merryl Alber
Project Director / Professor
UGA Marine Institute on Sapelo Island
malber@uga.edu
(706) 542-5966

Mona Behl
Associate Director / Public Service Assistant
Marine Extension Service & Georgia Sea Grant
mbehl@uga.edu
(706) 542-6621

Marsha Black
Associate Professor
Environmental Health Science
mblack@uga.edu
(706) 542-0998

Brian Bledsoe*
Georgia Athletic Association Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
bbledsoe@uga.edu
(706) 542-7249

Robert Bringolf
Graduate Coordinator, Associate Professor, Fish Biology and Ecotoxicology
Warnell School of Forestry
bringo@uga.edu
(706) 542-1477

Jon Calabria
Assistant Professor
College of Environment + Design
jcalabr@uga.edu
(706) 542-0903

Krista Capps
Assistant Professor
Odum School of Ecology / Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
kcapps@uga.edu
(706) 542-9673

Ron Carroll
Professor Emeritus
Odum School of Ecology
ronecology@gmail.com

Scott Connelly
Assistant Professor
Odum School of Ecology
scottcon@uga.edu
(706) 542-5233

Alan Covich
Professor
Odum School of Ecology
alanc@uga.edu
(706) 542-6006

John Drake*
Professor
Odum School of Ecology
jdrake@uga.edu
(706) 583-5539

Byron Freeman
Senior Public Service Associate / Director
Georgia Museum of Natural History
bud@hemip.nhm.uga.edu
(706) 583-0978

Mary Freeman
Research Ecologist
U.S. Geological Survey
freemanm@uga.edu
(706) 543-0978

David Gattie
Associate Professor
College of Engineering/Driftmier Engineering Center
dgattie@uga.edu
(706) 542-0880

John Gittleman**
Dean and UGA Foundation Professor
Odum School of Ecology
ecohead@uga.edu
(706) 542-2968

Jeffrey Hepinstall-Cymerman
Associate Professor, Landscape Ecology
Warnell School of Forestry
jhepinstall@warnell.uga.edu
(706) 583-8097

Charles Hopkinson
Professor
Marine Sciences
chopkins@uga.edu
(706) 542-1855

Rhett Jackson
Professor, Hydrology
Warnell School of Forestry
rjackson@warnell.uga.edu
(706) 542-1772

Kevin Kirsche*
Director of Sustainabilty
Office of Sustainability
kkirsche@uga.edu
(706) 542-1301

David Leigh*
Professor
Department of Geography
dleigh@uga.edu
(706) 542-2346

Elizabeth Little
Assistant Professor / Extension Specialist
College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
elittle@uga.edu
(706) 542-4774

Marguerite Madden*
Professor / Associate Department Head Director of the Center for Geospatial Research
Department of Geography
mmadden@uga.edu
(706) 542-2379

Kyle McKay
Adjunct Professor
Warnell School of Forestry
skmckay@gmail.com
(601) 415-7160

Jeffrey Mullen*
Associate Professor
College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
jmullen@uga.edu
(706) 542-0767

Courtney Murdock
Assistant Professor
Odum School of Ecology / Department of Genetics
cmurdock@uga.edu
(706) 542-2083

Donald Nelson*
Associate Professor
Department of Anthropology
dnelson@uga.edu
(706) 542-1452

Nathan Nibbelink
Associate Professor, GIS/Spatial Ecology, Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources
Director, Center for Integrative Conservation Research
nate2@uga.edu
(706) 542-9853

Brian Orland
Professor
College of Environmental + Design
borland@uga.edu
(706) 542-0709

Catherine Pringle
Distinguished Research Professor
Odum School of Ecology
cpringle@uga.edu
(706) 542-1120

David Radcliffe*
Professor
College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
dradclif@uga.edu
(706) 542-0897

Todd Rasmussen*
Professor
Warnell School of Forestry
trasmuss@uga.edu
(706) 542-4300

Mark Risse*
Director
UGA Marine Extension & Georgia Sea Grant
mrisse@uga.edu
(706) 542-5956

Amy Rosemond*
Associate Professor
Odum School of Ecology
rosemond@uga.edu
(706) 542-3903

J.P. Schmidt
Assistant Research Scientist
Odum School of Ecology
jps@uga.edu
(706) 542-2968

Tyler Scott
Assistant Professor
Department of Public Administration and Policy
tyler.scott@uga.edu
(706) 542-4549

David Stooksbury*
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
destooks@uga.edu
(706) 583-0156

Christian Turner*
Associate Professor
School of Law
cmturner@uga.edu
(706) 542-5140

R. Alfred Vick
Associate Professor
College of Environmental + Design
ravick@uga.edu
(706) 542-6550

Susan Wilde
Associate Professor
Warnell School of Forestry
swilde@uga.edu
(706) 542-3346

* denotes River Basin Center Advisory Board member

** denotes River Basin Center Advisory Board member ex officio

Staff

Phillip Bumpers
Research Coordinator
bumpersp@uga.edu

Duncan Elkins
Postdoctoral Associate
delkins@uga.edu

Beth Gavrilles
Public Relations Coordinator
bethgav@uga.edu

Katie Hill
Legal Services Associate
katiehill@uga.edu

Douglas Leasure
Postdoctoral Associate
dleasure@uga.edu

Wendy Paulsen
Office Manager
wpaulsen@uga.edu
(706) 583-0463

Jonathan Skaggs
Field Technician
jskaggs@uga.edu

Christopher Wheeler
Postdoctoral Associate
kwheeler@uga.edu

Students

Richard Bauer
M.S. Conservation Ecology & Sustainable Development
richard.bauer30@uga.edu

Shannon Bonney
Ph.D. Integrative Conservation & Ecology
sbonney@uga.edu

Katherine Brownson
Ph.D. Integrative Conservation & Ecology
katieb42@uga.edu

Matthew Carroll
M.S. Conservation Ecology & Sustainable Development
mhc22@uga.edu

Caitlin Conn
Ph.D. Ecology
caitlin.conn25@uga.edu

Jonah Driggers
M.S. Conservation Ecology & Sustainable Development
jdrigg@uga.edu

Sameera Gujarathi
Ph.D. Integrative Conservation & Ecology
sameera5@uga.edu

Darixa Hernandez
M.S. Conservation Ecology & Sustainable Development
darixa.hernandez@uga.edu

Gregory Jacobs
Ph.D. Ecology
greg.jacobs25@uga.edu

Emily Johnson
M.S. Conservation Ecology & Sustainable Development
emilyj128@uga.edu

Benjamin Liverman
Ph.D. Integrative Conservation & Ecology
bliver@uga.edu

Philip Nussbaum
M.S. Conservation Ecology & Sustainable Development
philip.nussbaum@uga.edu

Matthew Pruitt
M.S. Conservation Ecology & Sustainable Development
mkpruitt@uga.edu

Edward Stowe
Ph.D. Ecology
edward.stowe25@uga.edu

James Wood
Ph.D. Ecology
wood@uga.edu